clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Anderson & Dawson Honored

Two official honors were announced today, as announced by the Cleveland Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America:

Player of the Year: Derek Anderson. Anderson would have been a longshot to win this award at the start of the season, considering that he lost the opening-day starter competition to Charlie Frye and Brady Quinn was already waiting for his turn on the bench. Heading into Week 17, Anderson has thrown for 28 touchdowns, just two shy of the team record set by Brian Sipe in 1980.

Good Guy: Phil Dawson. You couldn't find a better person to win this award, especially after the touching story regarding his family released earlier this season by the Cleveland Plain Dealer. Dawson has made 24-of-27 field goals this season, including a couple of game-winners. You have to like Dawson's comments about the atmosphere changing this year for the Browns as a whole: "We've got a lot of good people in this locker room," said Dawson. "They've gotten rid of some of the players who didn't fit that mold."

Unofficially, Jamal Lewis was's Adam Schein's Comeback Player of the Year winner. Schein had Joe Thomas as his runner up to Adrian Peterson for offensive rookie of the year, and Romeo Crennel as a runner up to Mike McCarthy for Coach of the Year.

As reported by Bernie19Kosar, Marvin Harrison will start this Sunday night against the Tennessee Titans. Let the hope build up even more.