clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AP Rookies of the Year: No Surprises With Suh and Bradford

The Associated Press Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the year were announced tonight, and to the surprise of no one, the winners were St. Louis Rams quarterback Sam Bradford and Detroit Lions defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh.

Out of a panel of 50 voters, Cleveland Browns cornerback Joe Haden did not register a single vote for the defensive award. Not many players did -- Suh received 48 of the votes, while New England Patriots cornerback Devin McCourtey received the other two.

It was pretty much the same story offensively, where Bradford had an overwhelming 44 votes. Two other players received votes -- Tampa Bay Buccaneers receiver Mike Williams received four, while Pittsburgh Steelers center Maurkice Pouncey received two. The fact that Pouncey received any votes might irk a few fans, at least in Cleveland.