clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WR Josh Gordon, OL Joe Thomas Honored by Local PFWA

Ken Blaze-USA TODAY Sports

On Thursday, the Cleveland Browns announced that the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) have honored WR Josh Gordon and OT Joe Thomas with their annual awards this season.

2013 Player of the Year: WR Josh Gordon
2013 'Good Guy Award': OT Joe Thomas

Gordon was no doubt the unanimous selection for the team's best player. Although TE Jordan Cameron made an impression early in the season, Gordon has shattered records at the wide receiver position and currently leads the NFL in receiving yards despite having three different quarterbacks throwing his way and missing two games. K Phil Dawson won the award in 2012.

The ‘Good Guy Award’ is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates, and Thomas fits that bill. LB D'Qwell Jackson won the award in 2012, but Thomas won it back in 2010 and is the first person to have earned the honor twice. Here is a history of the awards since 2001:

Cleveland Browns PFWA Player of the Year Winners:

2001 LB Jamir Miller

2002 RB William Green

2003 LB Andra Davis

2004 SS Robert Griffith

2005 RB Reuben Droughns

2006 LB Kamerion Wimbley

2007 QB Derek Anderson

2008 DL Shaun Rogers

2009 KR Joshua Cribbs

2010 RB Peyton Hillis

2011 LB D’Qwell Jackson

2012 K Phil Dawson

2013 WR Josh Gordon

Cleveland Browns PFWA Dino Lucarelli ‘Good Guy Award’ Winners:

2001 QB Tim Couch

2002 DB Corey Fuller

2003 OL Shaun O’Hara

2004 DB Daylon McCutcheon

2005 OL Jeff Faine

2006 DB Brian Russell

2007 K Phil Dawson

2008 DB Brandon McDonald

2009 LB David Bowens

2010 OL Joe Thomas

2011 DB Mike Adams

2012 LB D’Qwell Jackson

2013 OL Joe Thomas