clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2013: It's a "NO" For Art Modell

Charles LeClaire-US PRESSWIRE
Although Ravens fans will be disappointed that Art Modell did not make the Hall of Fame, they were still well-represented by former offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden. Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

UPDATE (6:30 PM) - The 2013 Hall of Fame Class: Congratulations to the 2013 NFL Hall of Fame class, which includes the following seven individuals, in no particular order:

  1. WR Cris Carter
  2. OL Larry Allen
  3. OL Jonathan Ogden
  4. DT Warren Sapp
  5. DT Curley Culp
  6. LB Dave Robinson
  7. HC Bill Parcells

Check out our prediction of Super Bowl XLVII here.


UPDATE (6:15 PM) - Modell Doesn't Make It: Art Modell did not make the Hall of Fame. He didn't even make the voters' top ten. I'll let Tony Grossi get the credit for another job well done:

Grossi stated the following regarding the deliberation process on Modell:

Modell, who died on Sept. 6 and whose second team, the Baltimore Ravens, will play Sunday in Super Bowl 47, received a lot of oral support in a discussion that last over 32 minutes. Only Parcells' discussion, which lasted 55 minutes, went longer.

Here are some more reactions from the local media in Cleveland:

And then, in Baltimore, you have...Brian Billick:

The majority of voters disagreed...again. The original story below, and feel free to celebrate in the comments section.


In what seems to be an annual event now, Cleveland Browns fans will be on pins and needles waiting to see if Art Modell is inducted to the Hall of Fame today. For anyone who has lived under a rock their entire lives, despite the fact that Modell was the owner of the Browns for 34 years, the majority of Cleveland fans hate him with a passion and have been adamant about him never making the Hall of Fame.

The 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame class will be announced at today at 5:30 pm ET on NFL Network. There are 17 finalists, with a maximum induction class of seven. Finalists must receive 80% of the votes in order to get in; Cleveland's Tony Grossi is one of the voting members. Here is a breakdown, by position or role, of the finalists:

RB: Jerome Bettis
WR: Tim Brown, Cris Carter, and Andre Reed
Larry Allen, Jonathan Ogden, and Will Shields
Curley Culp and Warren Sapp
DE: Charles Haley and Michael Strahan
LB: Kevin Greene and Dave Robinson
DB: Aeneas Williams
Bill Parcells
Edward DeBartolo, Jr. and Art Modell

Use this as an open thread to discuss the 2013 Hall of Fame announcements, and let's hope that Modell fails to get in once more.