clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Browns' Depth Chart vs. Steelers: Hawkins, Robertson, and Skrine Listed as Starters

Welcome to the spotlight, Hawk.
Welcome to the spotlight, Hawk.
Joe Sargent

The Cleveland Browns released their first depth chart of the regular season on Tuesday. I have outlined the information by position in the tables below. Here are the things of note from the depth chart:

  • The Browns had RB Dion Lewis listed as the No. 3 running back, and RB Isaiah Crowell was not on the roster. Obviously that is a typo, so I have corrected it. However, it does further show that Lewis was in line to be the No. 3 running back before a last second change.
  • WR Andrew Hawkins replaced WR Josh Gordon as a starting receiver.
  • TE Gary Barnidge is the No. 2 tight end, ahead of TE Jim Dray.
  • In the preseason, DE Billy Winn was listed ahead of DE Armonty Bryant. Now, Bryant is listed as the starter. That might change in the coming weeks once the other Bryant, Desmond Bryant, returns to action.
  • It's interesting that the Browns have stuck with Ahtyba Rubin being labeled as the NT on their depth charts, and Phil Taylor being labeled as a DE.
  • Although the two will split time, ILB Craig Robertson is listed as a starter over ILB Chris Kirksey.
  • Similarly, CB Buster Skrine is listed as a starter over CB Justin Gilbert. I'd expect Skrine to start in two cornerback sets, and shift over to the slot in nickel situations.
  • Travis Benjamin is listed as the top kick and punt returner.
Cleveland Browns Depth Chart
QB Brian Hoyer Johnny Manziel

RB Ben Tate Terrance West Isaiah Crowell
Glenn Winston
FB Ray Agnew
WR Andrew Hawkins Travis Benjamin

WR Miles Austin Taylor Gabriel
LaRon Byrd

TE Jordan Cameron Gary Barnidge Jim Dray
LT Joe Thomas Ryan Seymour

LG Joel Bitonio Paul McQuistan
C Alex Mack

RG John Greco Caylin Hauptmann

RT Mitchell Schwartz

RDE Armonty Bryant Billy Winn
NT Ahtyba Rubin Ishmaa'ily Kitchen
LDE Phil Taylor John Hughes Desmond Bryant
ROLB Paul Kruger Jabaal Sheard
MIKE Karlos Dansby Tank Carder
WILL Craig Robertson Chris Kirksey
LOLB Barkevious Mingo Eric Martin
RCB Buster Skrine Justin Gilbert Aaron Berry K'Waun Williams
LCB Joe Haden Pierre Desir Robert Nelson

FS Tashaun Gipson Jordan Poyer
SS Donte Whitner Jim Leonhard Johnson Bademosi
P Spencer Lanning
K Billy Cundiff
H Spencer Lanning
LS Christian Yount
KR Travis Benjamin Justin Gilbert Taylor Gabriel Buster Skrine
PR Travis Benjamin Jordan Poyer Jim Leonhard Taylor Gabriel