clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kevin Zeitler voted Browns Ed Block award recipient for 2017

One winner is picked per team, and it is voted on by the players.

NFL: Cleveland Browns at Houston Texans Shanna Lockwood-USA TODAY Sports

Kevin Zeitler has been voted as the Cleveland Browns’ 2017 Ed Block award winner.

One player from each NFL team receives the award annually, as voted on by each team’s players. The award is named after former Baltimore Colts head athletic trainer Ed Block, and is “based on courage, compassion, commitment and community.”

Zeitler was a key free-agent acquisition of the Browns during the 2017 offseason and has played every snap since. He played through a lingering finger issue following a minor operation after his first game of the season and received treatment for through Week 6.

“Kevin is an exceptional leader on our team through the example he provides his teammates of consistently doing things the right way with his consummate professionalism, steady demeanor and dedication to his craft,” head coach Hue Jackson said, per a team press release.

In addition to demonstrating on-field dedication and professionalism since signing with Cleveland, Zeitler has also been an active force in the team’s Give Back efforts. According to the team, his work in Northeast Ohio has helped promote their commitment to community, education, and youth football programs.

Recent Browns award winners include Joe Haden, Alex Mack, Desmond Bryant, and T.J. Ward. This is Zeitler’s first Ed Block award.