clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Browns will represent in the Pro Bowl: RB Nick Chubb and WR Jarvis Landry

A pair of second round draft picks show some dominance

Pro Bowl Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The NFL Pro Bowl rosters were unveiled today, and not surprisingly Browns’ running back Nick Chubb was one of the top vote getters.

Also elected to the AFC side of the All-Star game is Cleveland wide receiver Jarvis Landry who is having a banner year.

Cincinnati Bengals v Cleveland Browns Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images

Chubb has been a workhorse all year for the Browns and is steady every game. He is currently the league’s leading rusher with 1,408 yards on 270 attempts. Chubb is a dependable runner with only three fumbles lost, oddly enough two came in the same game. His 270 attempts are tied for second most while his 5.2 yards average is ranked third among players with 125 carries or more.

The former 2018 second round draft pick has scored eight touchdowns and is the only NFL running back who has an average of over 100-yards per game (100.6). Chubb is also valuable in the passing game with 35 receptions for 277 yards.

Cleveland Browns v Baltimore Ravens Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

Landry was also drafted in the second round by the Miami Dolphins in 2014. He was subsequently named to the All-Rookie Team and was the league’s reception leader in 2017.

The Browns traded for Landry last year for a fourth and seventh round draft pick. Against the Baltimore Ravens this year, a 40-25 Cleveland win, he caught eight passes for 167 yards. Currently he has 995 yards on 69 receptions with five touchdowns.

This marks the fifth straight Pro Bowl appearance by Landry (2015-2019), a remarkable feat.

It is impossible to think about any type of offensive output this year without these two players.

The first game of this type was played in 1938 and was called the “Pro All-Star Game.” As was the custom in those days, most of what professional football did was based upon what Major League Baseball was doing, or had already done. From 1939-1942 the game was called the “NFL All-Star Game” and pitted the former year’s league champion against a roster of the best players. The game was discontinued with the start of World War II.

In 1950, the game resumed and was renamed the “Pro Bowl.” The most utilized venues have been the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum (1950-1971, 1978) and Aloha Stadium in Hawai’i (1979-2013, 2015). Since 2016 the game has been played at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla.

The 2019 Pro Bowl is January 26, 2020 and televised jointly by ESPN and ABC. This year each member of the winning squad will receive $67,000 while the loser’s share is $39,000.

In the AFC North division, the Ravens are represented by 12 players, Pittsburgh six and Cincinnati one.

Pro Bowl rosters:

AFC roster

Quarterbacks: Lamar Jackson, Baltimore; Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City; Deshaun Watson, Houston

Running backs: Nick Chubb, Cleveland; Derrick Henry, Tennessee; Mark Ingram, Baltimore

Wide receivers: Keenan Allen, Los Angeles Chargers; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston; Jarvis Landry, Cleveland

Fullback: Patrick Ricard, Baltimore

Tight ends: Mark Andrews, Baltimore; Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Tackles: Trent Brown, Oakland; Ronnie Stanley, Baltimore; Laremy Tunsil, Houston

Guards: David DeCastro, Pittsburgh; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis; Marshal Yanda, Baltimore

Centers: Rodney Hudson, Oakland; Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh

Defensive ends: Joey Bosa, Los Angeles Chargers; Calais Campbell, Jacksonville; Frank Clark, Kansas City

Interior linemen: Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh; Chris Jones, Kansas City

Outside linebackers: Matthew Judon, Baltimore; Von Miller, Denver; T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh

Inside/middle linebackers: Dont’a Hightower, New England; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis

Cornerbacks: Stephon Gilmore, New England; Marlon Humphrey, Baltimore; Marcus Peters, Baltimore; Tre’Davious White, Buffalo

Free safeties: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh; Earl Thomas, Baltimore

Strong safety: Jamal Adams, New York Jets

Punters: Brett Kern, Tennessee

Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Long snapper: Morgan Cox, Baltimore

Return specialist: Mecole Hardman, Kansas City

Special-teamer: Matthew Slater, New England

NFC roster

Quarterbacks: Drew Brees, New Orleans; Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay; Russell Wilson, Seattle

Running backs: Dalvin Cook, Minnesota; Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas; Christian McCaffrey, Carolina

Fullback: Kyle Juszczyk, San Francisco

Tight ends: Zach Ertz, Philadelphia; George Kittle, San Francisco

Tackles: Terron Armstead, New Orleans; David Bakhtiari, Green Bay; Tyron Smith, Dallas

Guards: Brandon Brooks, Philadelphia; Zack Martin, Dallas; Brandon Scherff, Washington

Centers: Travis Frederick, Dallas; Jason Kelce, Philadelphia

Defensive ends: Nick Bosa, San Francisco; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota; Cameron Jordan, New Orleans

Interior linemen: Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia; Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Grady Jarrett, Atlanta

Outside linebackers: Shaquil Barrett, Tampa Bay; Chandler Jones, Arizona; Khalil Mack, Chicago

Inside/middle linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina; Bobby Wagner, Seattle

Cornerbacks: Marshon Lattimore, New Orleans; Jalen Ramsey, Los Angeles Rams; Richard Sherman, San Francisco; Darius Slay, Detroit

Free safeties: Budda Baker, Arizona; Eddie Jackson, Chicago

Strong safety: Harrison Smith, Minnesota

Punter: Tress Way, Washington

Placekicker: Wil Lutz, New Orleans

Long snapper: Rick Lovato, Philadelphia

Return specialist: Deonte Harris, New Orleans

Special-teamer: Cordarrelle Patterson, Chicago